American Association for Physician Leadership

AAPL Faculty and SME

AAPL Faculty and Subject Matter Experts

Dr. Linda Babcock

James Mellon Professor of Economics

Heinz College and Department of Social and Decision Sciences, Carnegie Mellon University

Blaine Bartlett

President and CEO

Avatar Resources Inc.

Stephen Beeson

Founder and CEO

Practicing Excellence

Randall Bickle

CEO and Medical Director

Olympia Medical Services

Jonathan Burroughs

President and CEO

The Burroughs Healthcare Consulting Network Inc.

Karin Cain

Principal - Navigation Healthcare

Navigation Healthcare

Justin Chamblee

Executive Vice President

Coker Group

Bergitta E. Cotroneo

Deputy Chief Executive Officer & EVP

Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine (AAIM)

Dr. Paul F. DeChant

Principal and Co-Founder

Organizational Wellbeing Solutions, LLC

Dan Diamond

Clinical Assistant Professor

Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine Washington State University

Steven Finkler

Professor Emeritus of Public and Health Administration, Accounting and Financial Management

Robert F. Wagner Graduate School of Public Service, New York University

Susan Freeman


Creative HealthCare Initiatives, LLC

Mamta Gautam

President and CEO


Joseph Geskey

Principal, Data Science and Member Insights

Vizient, Inc

Dean Gianakos

Vice President, Chief Academic Officer

Centra Health

Jack Gilbert

Clinical Professor, College of Health Solutions

Arizona State University

Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine

Dian Ginsberg


The Career Consultants, LLC

Laurie Cullen Gregg

Chief Wellness Officer

Sutter Independent Physicians

Medical Director of Wellness and Peer Support

Sutter Sacramento Medical Center

Stanley Harris

Chairman of DEI Committee Board of Trustees

Marist College

Joeann Humbert

Organizational Development Consultant


Mitchell Kaminski

Program Director, Population Health

Jefferson College of Population Health

Timothy Keogh

Adjunct Professor

Department of Health Policy and Management, Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine

Carrie Kish



Allison Linney


Allison Partners LLC

Dr. Nicholas Lorenzo

Chief Medical Officer


William "Marty" Martin

Director and Professor

DePaul University

Matt Mazurek

Assistant Clinical Professor

Yale School of Medicine, Department of Anesthesiology

Greg McCoskey

Attorney and Educator

Gregory M. McCoskey, Esq.

Brian P. McDonough

Clinical Professor Family Medicine and Community Health

Lewis Katz School of Medicine at Temple University

Larry McEvoy


Epidemic Leadership


Memorial Health System

David Nash

Founding Dean Emeritus

Dr. Raymond C. & Doris N. Grandon Professor of Health Policy

Jefferson College of Population Health, Thomas Jefferson University

Todd Nelson

Director, Partner Relationships and Chief Partnership Executive

Healthcare Financial Management Association (HFMA)

Kevin E. O'Connor


Loyola University of Chicago

Mike Sacopulos

Founder & President

Medical Risk Institute

Marty Scott

High Reliability, Patient Safety, Quality Improvement Consultant

Brandon Smith

Senior Consultant


Wiley “Chip” Souba

Professor of Surgery

Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth

Former Dean of Medicine and VP for Health Affairs

Dartmouth Certification: American Board of Surgery

Bruce Spurlock

President & CEO

Cynosure Health

Sylvie Stacy

Board-Certified Preventive Medicine Physician

Birmingham, Alabama

Laura W. Synnott

Associate Teaching Professor

Carnegie Mellon University

Grace E. Terrell

Chief Product Officer

IKS Healthcare

Michael Torres

Vice President/Chief Medical Officer

AdventHealth Ocala

Pamela S. Trafford

Faculty, Department of Accounting

Isenberg School of Management, University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Elizabeth Warner

Chief Medical Officer (CMO)

Cherry Health

Amanda Weirup

Assistant Professor of Management

Babson College

For over 45 years.

The American Association for Physician Leadership has helped physicians develop their leadership skills through education, career development, thought leadership and community building.

The American Association for Physician Leadership (AAPL) changed its name from the American College of Physician Executives (ACPE) in 2014. We may have changed our name, but we are the same organization that has been serving physician leaders since 1975.


Mail Processing Address
PO Box 96503 I BMB 97493
Washington, DC 20090-6503

Payment Remittance Address
PO Box 745725
Atlanta, GA 30374-5725
(800) 562-8088
(813) 287-8993 Fax



AAPL providers leadership development programs designed to retain valuable team members and improve patient outcomes.

American Association for Physician Leadership®

formerly known as the American College of Physician Executives (ACPE)