AAPL Awards Fellowships to Accomplished Physician Leaders

By AAPL Staff
May 7, 2019

In addition, the association bestowed a distinguished fellowship to  William K. Cors, and honorary fellowships to Tait Shanafelt, Lois Nora and Peter Angood.

The American Association for Physician Leadership honored 11 members on Saturday who earned association fellowships during its 2019 Spring Summit in Washington, D.C.

In addition, AAPL bestowed a distinguished fellowship to William K. Cors, MD, MMM, CPE, FAAPL; and honorary fellowships were given to Tait Shanafelt, MD; Lois Nora, MD, JD, MBA; and AAPL President and CEO Peter Angood, MD, FRCS(C), FACS, MCCM.

The announcements were part of the association’s 2019 Spring Summit awards ceremony at the JW Marriott Washington, D.C.

To become a fellow, a candidate must be an AAPL member for at least five consecutive years; have the Certified Physician Executive credential; have demonstrated significant accomplishments in physician leadership; and contributed to physician leadership at the regional or national level.

Here are the new fellows:

  • Zulma M. Berrios, MD, MBA, CPE, FAAPL; West Kendall Baptist Hospital, Baptist Health South Florida.
  • Michael R. Canady, MD, MBA, CPE, FACS, FAAPL; Holzer Health Systems.
  • Robert G. Coates, MD, MMM, CPE, FAAFP, FAAPL; Hunterdon Medical Center.
  • Colleen Fujiko Inouye, MD, MMM, CPE, FAAPL, FACOG; Hawaii Independent Physicians Association.
  • Olugbemiga E. Jegede, MD, MHA, FACP, FAAP, CPE, FAAPL; Cone Health Medical Group.
  • Koroush Khalighi, MD, CPE, MS, FACP, FCCP, FACC, FHRS, FAAPL; Easton Cardiovascular Associates.
  • Vikram Khot, MD, CPE, FAAPL, DFAPA; Novant Health UVA Health System.
  • Lisa A. Laurent, MD, MBA, MS, CPE, FAAPL; Advocate Lutheran General Hospital, Advanced Radiology Consultants.
  • Nicholas Lorenzo, MD, MHCM, CPE, FAAPL; PHLT Consultants, MeMD.
  • Umesh Sharma, MD, MBA, CPE, FACP, FHM, FAAPL; Mayo Clinic Health System.
  • Michael D. Thornsberry, MD, MBA, CPE, MPH, FAAFP, FACHE, FAAPL; Texas Health Harris Methodist Fort Worth.

New AAPL fellows, from left, Michael D. Thornsberry, Umesh Sharma, Nicholas Lorenzo, Vikram Khot, Colleen Fujiko Inouye, Robert G. Coates, Michael R. Canady, Zulma M. Berrios, Olugbemiga E. Jegede and Lisa A. Laurent stand with outgoing board chair J. Gregory Jolissaint and association president and CEO Peter Angood at the 2019 Spring Summit in Washington, D.C. Not pictured is Koroush Khalighi. | Rachel Gillespie / AAPL

The distinguished fellowship goes to members previously recognized as AAPL fellows who continue their contributions to physician leadership by speaking at association conferences, participating on AAPL boards or committees, or serving as distinguished faculty. They are recognized as an Influencer of physician leadership on a national or international scale.

Cors, the senior medical director at Lehigh Valley Hospital-Pocono in Pennsylvania, fits that definition, with more than 20 years as a health care leader and longtime work advancing physician leadership. Cors, a neurologist with 15 years of clinical experience, has also authored numerous publications, and this year published the book, The Medical Staff Leader’s Practical Guide.

“I am honored beyond belief to have received this designation and that I will continue to lead by trying to leave things better than I found them and to help mentor upcoming physician leaders to carry the torch going forward,” Cors said in a message to the association.

Honorary fellows have not obtained their Certified Physician Executive credential but are highly recognized physician leaders who have made significant contributions to the association or the field of medical management and physician leadership.

Shanafelt’s pioneering studies nearly 20 years ago are credited with helping launch organizational efforts to promote physician well-being. Last year, he was named one of the 50 most influential people in health care by Time magazine.

“These are challenging times for American medicine,” said Shanafelt, chief wellness officer and associate dean at Stanford University, in a message to AAPL. “Restructuring of the health care delivery system, payment reform, the need to expand access to care, and the increasing complexity of care have all placed great strain on the system and health care providers. I believe that leadership is the longest lever we have to confront these challenges.”

Nora has devoted much of her career driving community engagement and organizational transformation, achieved by fostering high performing teams, consensus-building and seeking diverse stakeholder engagement.

Angood said he was not expecting his honor, an acknowledgment of his contributions since he was hired to lead the association in 2011.

Click here to learn more about applying for Fellowship. Applications reopen in July.


Congratulations Inductees and Fellows
American Association for Physician Leadership partners with Indiana University Kelley School of Business