Award Background


Established in 2014, the Roger Schenke Award recognizes individuals who have exhibited innovation in the creation of education or training programs to advance physician leadership and improve health care.

The award honors the vision and commitment to excellence demonstrated by Roger Schenke, who in 1975 founded the organization that is now the American Association for Physician Leadership®.

Schenke served as the organization's CEO until his retirement in 2008. During his tenure, he designed and conducted more than 75 educational programs and developed the Certified Physician Executive (CPE) certification. Through Schenke's innovative approaches, thousands of physicians have obtained leadership education or management training, which has ultimately created tremendous positive change within the health care industry.

Selection Criteria and Nomination Requirement

  • Must be an MD or DO, or international equivalent
  • Must be a member of the association
  • Must have exhibited innovation in the creation of education or training programs designed to advance physician leadership and improve health care
  • Must have distinguished himself or herself as a leader in improving health care
  • Is an advocate of lifelong learning in physician leadership competencies
  • May not be a current board member of the association

Application Process

Only electronic applications submitted through this site will be accepted. Applications must be submitted no later than Friday, February 8, 2019. Submissions received after this time will not be considered.

The award-winning recipient will be selected in February.

The award will be presented at the Physician Leadership Summit in Washington, D.C., May 3-5, 2019. The winner must be present at the meeting to receive the award and present the project to association's members. Complimentary tuition to the Annual Meeting as well as expenses for travel and one-night hotel accommodation will be provided.

The winner will be featured in the association’s Physician Leadership Journal and digital member newsletters. The project will also be featured on the association's website as a resource for members.

Questions regarding the application should be directed to

Thank you for your submissions, we will be reaching out to you after the committee review process.

See you at Spring Summit