Nominate for AAPL’s Annual Leape, Schenke Awards

By AAPL Staff
January 27, 2022

These two awards honor advancements in the education of physician leaders. The period for nominations runs through Monday, February 28, 2022.


The nomination period for the American Association for Physician Leadership’s two major awards, recognizing improvements in health care by industry leaders and influencers, will be through Monday, February 28, 2022. Final selection will be announced in April 2022.

The Leape Ahead Award and Roger Schenke Award will be presented during the association’s Virtual Vanguard Meeting Friday, June 10, 2022. Winners, including at least one member of the Leape Ahead-winning project team, must be present during the Vanguard meeting to make a presentation and receive their award.

The Leape Ahead Award recognizes institutions and their leaders dedicated to advancing the quality of health care by developing medical students and residents as future leaders.

The Leape Award was named for Lucian Leape, MD, a former pediatric surgeon whose emphasis on establishing a respectful, professional training environment for med students and residents was an important step in the pursuit of “do no harm.”

Click here to nominate for the Leape Ahead Award and view selection criteria.


2012 – Helen DeVos Children's Hospital; Grand Rapids, Michigan

2013 – Brigham and Women's Hospital; Boston, Massachusetts

2014 – Christiana Care Health System; Delaware

2015 – Northwestern Medicine Academy for Quality and Safety Improvement; Illinois

2016 – Advocate Health Care’s Resident Leadership Development Institute; Park Ridge, Illinois

2017 – MUSC Health at the Medical University of South Carolina; Charleston, South Carolina

2018 – New York City Health & Hospitals/Lincoln; New York

2019 – Mount Sinai Medical Center, New York, NY

The Schenke Award goes to individuals who have exhibited innovation in the creation of education or training programs to advance physician leadership and improve health care.

The Schenke Award, established in 2014 for AAPL’s 40th anniversary, honors the organization’s founder. Schenke served as CEO from 1975 until his retirement in 2008. During that time, he designed and conducted more than 75 educational programs and developed the Certified Physician Executive credential.

Click here to nominate for the Roger Schenke Award and view selection criteria.



2015 – Scott Ellner, DO, MPH, MHCM, FACS; Saint Francis Medical Group; Hartford, Connecticut

2016 – Larry Feinman, DO, FACOS; HCA West Florida; Tampa, Florida

2017 – Venkat Prasad, MD; UNC Physicians Network; Morrisville, North Carolina

2018 – Samuel Cullison, MD, ABFM, CPE; Methodist Health System, Dallas, Texas

2019 – Marisa Saint Martin, MD, ACC, FAAPL, FCAP, FASCP; Loyola University Medical Center, Maywood, IL



Questions regarding the application should be directed





Join AAPL today





Bernard J. Tyson National Award for Excellence in Pursuit of Healthcare Equity